Studies abroad

The Faculty of Computing implements study exchanges within the framework of the Erasmus Lifelong Learning Programme, which is funded by the European Commission. The Erasmus programme provides for two types of student mobility – studies and internships. The aim of the Erasmus student mobility is to provide an opportunity to gain academic, linguistic and cultural experience by studying or doing internships in other European countries, and to promote education of new qualified and internationally experienced professionals. It provides a student's studies at one of the EU and EEA partner universities and the recognition of study results at a home university. The duration of studies is from 3 months to one academic year. The usual practice, however, is to apply for one semester. Mobility is based on Erasmus bilateral agreements concluded between Erasmus+ Programme partner universities. These agreements fix the number of mutual exchange students, as well as the level of studies (bachelor's, master's, doctoral) in each academic year.

Coordinator of the Faculty of Computing – Assoc. Prof. Zane Bičevska
Email for communication:


A student must contact a foreign university or internship organisation in order to find out the possibilities and decide whether he/she is satisfied with them. The faculty cannot make a decision for you.

  • Universiteit Gent (Ghent University)
  • Brno University of Technology
  • TU Darmstadt
  • Technische Hochschule Deggendorf (Deggendorf Institute of Technology)
  • Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz)
  • Universität Mannheim (University of Mannheim)
  • Universität Osnabrück (Osnabrück University)
  • Reutlingen University
  • Hochschule Wismar
  • Aarhus Universitet (Aarhus University)
  • Tallinna Ülikool (Tallinn University)
  • Universidad de Alcalá (University of Alcalá)
  • Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya – BarcelonaTech (UPC) (Polytechnic University of Catalonia)
  • Universidad de Granada (University of Granada) – Campus Ceuta
  • Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (Technical University of Madrid)
  • Universidad de Sevilla (University of Seville)
  • Université Nice Sophia Antipolis (University of Nice Sophia Antipolis)
  • Université Paris-Est Créteil Val de Marne (UPEC) (Paris-East Créteil University)
  • Algebra University College – University of Applied Computer Engineering
  • Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
  • Università degli Studi di Catania (University of Catania)
  • Università degli Studi di Ferrara (University of Ferrara)
  • Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (University of Naples Federico II)
  • Sapienza Università di Roma (Sapienza University of Rome)
  • Universita degli Studi di Salerno (University of Salerno)
  • Università degli Studi di Sassari (University of Sassari)
  • Vilniaus universitetas (Vilnius University)
  • University of Groningen
  • Lodz University of Technology
  • Siedlce University of Natural Sciences and Humanities
  • Universidade de Aveiro (University of Aveiro)
  • Instituto de Estudos Superiores de Fafe (Institute of Higher Studies of Fafe)
  • Instituto Politecnico Do Porto (Polytechnic Institute of Porto)
  • School of Management and Technology of Felgueiras (ESTGF)
  • Blekinge Institute of Technology
  • Fatih Sultan Mehmet Vakıf Üniversitesi (Fatih Sultan Mehmet Vakif University)
  • İzmir Üniversitesi (Izmir University)
  • Bülent Ecevit Üniversitesi (Bülent Ecevit University)
  • Bar-Ilan University
  • Petrozavodsk State University

Full list of FC partner universities


Students can apply for exchange studies in the spring semester from the beginning of September till 30 September, but for exchange studies in the autumn semester – from the beginning of February till 10 February. When choosing a university, one of the most important criteria is language in which the study courses are offered. You need to be sure that your studies at a foreign university of your choice, and, in particular, the courses that interest you, are taught in the language you speak.

To participate in Erasmus student exchange, you must meet the following basic selection criteria:

  • you can prove good knowledge of a foreign language;
  • you have clear justification for studying at a foreign university;
  • you have not previously used more than 12 months of Erasmus+ mobility (studies or internship) at any of these study levels: bachelor's, master's, doctoral level;
  • you have successfully completed at least the first year of study at the undergraduate level;
  • at the time of application you are not studying for the last semester before receiving the diploma;
  • you are registered for studies in the study programme of the University of Latvia (you are not on sabbatical leave);
  • you have no study or tuition fee debts.

If the language skills and average mark (at least 7) requirements are met, preference will be given to disciplined students who are loyal to the University and the faculty and who have invested their time to improve them.

When applying for studies abroad, the coordinator must receive the following documents:

  • Transcript of Records for the last completed semester, for the first year master’s students – for bachelor’s studies.
  • Application form. Attention: the forms must be filled in on the computer. The photograph in the application form must be affixed in the place where the "Place for the photograph" is indicated, not next to it.
  • Proof of foreign language skills.

The number and amount of scholarships at the University of Latvia are determined centrally for each academic year separately. The Faculty of Computing has the opportunity to award several scholarships each year, but the number of places is also limited by host universities. A competition is announced for scholarship places. Students who are not granted a scholarship but who are eligible for Erasmus student status may decide to participate in an exchange programme without funding (at their own expense).

Attention: scholarships and the procedure for their payment may change from year to year.

FORTHEM aliansē ir septiņas universitātes, kurām ir pieredze plašās globālajās un Eiropas partnerattiecībās un akadēmiskajos projektos.

FORTHEM partneraugstskolas:

Visas augstskolas 2021. gada decembra beigās parakstīja multilateriālo līgumu.

Visu FORTHEM alianses augstskolu piedāvājums pa studiju jomām 2022*

*Informācija ir mainīga un tiks aktualizēta tiklīdz būs izmaiņas.


Internship abroad

More about internship abroad please read here.